

OFFICIAL NOTICE

Meeting of Regional Council Agenda

Wednesday, November 30, 2022, 10:00 a.m.
Regional Council Chambers
Regional Headquarters Building
605 Rossland Road East, Whitby

If this information is required in an accessible format, please contact 1-800-372-1102 ext. 2097.

Please note: This meeting will be held in a hybrid meeting format with electronic and in-person participation. It is encouraged that members of the public view the Council meeting via live streaming, instead of attending the meeting in-person. If in-person attendance is required, arrangements must be made by emailing clerks@durham.ca prior to the meeting date.

Pages

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Singing of "O Canada"
- 3. Declarations of Interest
- 4. Opening Remarks from Debbie Ellis, Indigenous Training Specialist, Region of Durham
- 5. Filing of Certificates
 - 5.1 Regional Chair
 - 5.2 Members of Council
- 6. Declarations of Office Administered by A. Harras, Regional Clerk
 - 6.1 Regional Chair
 - 6.2 Members of Council
- 7. Inaugural Address by the Regional Chair
- 8. Appointment of Members
 - 8.1 Durham Regional Police Services Board
 - 8.2 Standing Committee Chairs
 - 8.3 Members to Standing Committees

9. Appointment of Acting Regional Chair

9.1 Motion to appoint an Acting Regional Chair for The Regional Municipality of Durham

10. By-laws

10.1 59-2022

By-law to appoint an Acting Regional Chair for The Regional Municipality of Durham

11. Confirming By-law

11.1 60-2022

By-law to confirm the proceedings of Regional Council at their meeting held on November 30, 2022

12. Closing Remarks

13. Adjournment

Page 2 of 10

9

Councillors Interested in Serving

On

Durham Regional Police Services Board

Councillor Anderson

Councillor Barton

Councillor Carter

Councillor Collier

Councillor Crawford

Councillor Kerr

Councillor Lee

Councillor Marimpietri

Councillor McDougall

Councillor Mulcahy

Councillor Roy

Councillor Schummer

Councillor Shahid

Councillor Woo

Summary of Councillor Standing Committee Preference

Councillor	Councillor Finance and Administration Social Services		Planning and Economic Development	Works	
Anderson	3 rd	1 st	2 nd	4 th	
Ashe	2 nd	4 th	1 st	3 rd	
Barton	2 nd	3 rd	4 th	1 st	
Brenner	4 th	1 st	3 rd	2 nd	
Carter		1 st			
Chapman	2 nd	1 st	4 th	3 rd	
Collier			1 st		
Cook	4 th	3 rd	2 nd	1 st	
Crawford	2 nd	4 th	1 st	3 rd	
Dies	4 th	1 st	3 rd	2 nd	
Foster	1 st	1 st	1 st	1 st	
Garrod	2 nd	3 rd	1 st	4 th	
Jubb	4 th	1 st	3 rd	2 nd	
Kerr	4 th	2 nd	1 st	3 rd	
Leahy	1 st	3 rd	4 th	2 nd	
Lee	1 st	2 nd	4 th	3 rd	
Marimpietri	3 rd	4 th	2 nd	1 st	
McDougall	2 nd	4 th	3 rd	1 st	
Mulcahy	4 th	3 rd	2 nd	1 st	
Neal	4 th	2 nd	3 rd	1 st	
Nicholson	2 nd	4 th 3 rd		1 st	
Pickles	1 st	4 th	3 rd	2 nd	
Roy	4 th	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	
Schummer	1 st	3 rd	4 th	2 nd	
Shahid	4 th	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	
Woo	4 th	3 rd	2 nd	1 st	
Wotten	4 th	2 nd	1 st	3 rd	
Yamada	3 rd	4 th	2 nd	1 st	

Finance and Administration Committee	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th
Anderson			Χ	
Ashe		X		
Barton		X		
Brenner				X
Chapman		X		
Cook				X
Crawford		X		
Dies				X
Foster	Х			
Garrod		X		
Jubb				X
Kerr				X
Leahy	Х			
Lee	Х			
Marimpietri			X	
McDougall		X		
Mulcahy				X
Neal				X
Nicholson		X		
Pickles	Х			
Roy				X
Schummer	Х			
Shahid				X
Woo				X
Wotten				X
Yamada			X	

Health and Social Services Committee	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th
Anderson	Χ			
Ashe				X
Barton			X	
Brenner	Х			
Carter	Χ	X	X	X
Chapman	Χ			
Cook			X	
Crawford				X
Dies	Χ			
Foster	Χ			
Garrod			X	
Jubb	Х			
Kerr		X		
Leahy			X	
Lee		X		
Marimpietri				X
McDougall				X
Mulcahy			X	
Neal		X		
Nicholson				X
Pickles				X
Roy	Χ			
Schummer			X	
Shahid	Х			
Woo			X	
Wotten		Х		
Yamada				Х

Planning and Economic Development Committee	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th
Anderson		X		
Ashe	Х			
Barton				Х
Brenner			X	
Chapman				Х
Collier	Х	X	X	Х
Cook		X		
Crawford	Х			
Dies			Х	
Foster	Х			
Garrod	Х			
Jubb			Х	
Kerr	Х			
Leahy				Х
Lee				Х
Marimpietri		X		
McDougall			Х	
Mulcahy		Х		
Neal			Х	
Nicholson			Х	
Pickles			Х	
Roy		Х		
Schummer				Х
Shahid		Х		
Woo		Х		
Wotten	Х			
Yamada		Х		

Works Committee	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th
Anderson				Х
Ashe			X	
Barton	Х			
Brenner		X		
Chapman			Х	
Cook	Х			
Crawford			Х	
Dies		Х		
Foster	Х			
Garrod				Х
Jubb		X		
Kerr			Х	
Leahy		X		
Lee			X	
Marimpietri	Х			
McDougall	Х			
Mulcahy	Х			
Neal	Х			
Nicholson	Х			
Pickles		X		
Roy			X	
Schummer		X		
Shahid			Х	
Woo	Х			
Wotten			Х	
Yamada	Χ			

THE REGIONAL MUNICIPALITY OF DURHAM

MOVED BY			

SECONDED BY

1. Pursuant to the Council Rules of Procedure, the heads of each area municipality be appointed as Acting Chair, with respect to the role of presiding at meetings, for the periods as noted:

Ajax November 30, 2022 to February 28, 2023

Brock March 1, 2023 to May 31, 2023 Clarington June 1, 2023 to August 31, 2023

Oshawa September 1, 2023 to November 30, 2023 Pickering December 1, 2023 to February 29, 2024

Scugog March 1, 2024 to May 31, 2024 Uxbridge June 1, 2024 to August 31, 2024

Whitby September 1, 2024 to November 30, 2024 Ajax December 1, 2024 to February 28, 2025

Brock March 1, 2025 to May 31, 2025 Clarington June 1, 2025 to August 31, 2025

Oshawa September 1, 2025 to November 30, 2025 Pickering December 1, 2025 to February 28, 2026

Scugog March 1, 2026 to May 31, 2026 Uxbridge June 1, 2026 to August 31, 2026

Whitby September 1, 2026 to November 14, 2026

- a. In the event the head of council of an area municipality refuses to act or the office becomes vacant during the period they are designated as Acting Chair, the head of the area municipality which follows next alphabetically shall be appointed as the Acting Chair for the balance of the designated period.
- 2. For the term of Council, the Mayor of the Town of Whitby shall be granted the authority to act as a signatory for the purpose of executing documents on behalf of the Regional Chair as being an administrative function.

- 3. For the term of Council, in the event of an emergency, if the Regional Chair is absent or unable to act, designated alternates may act in the place of the Regional Chair in order to declare an emergency, being an administrative function, or sit on the RCG in accordance with the Emergency Management Program By-law. The designated alternates are as follows:
 - i. Councillor Kevin Ashe
 - ii. Councillor Adrian Foster
 - iii. Councillor Dave Barton
 - a. In the event of an emergency the first alternate shall act in the role of the chair, if the first alternate listed is absent or unable to act, then the second alternate listed may act, if the second alternate is absent or unable to act, then the third alternate may act.

DATED this 30th day of November, 2022