Town of Whitby 575 Rossland Road East, Whitby, ON L1N 2M8 905.430.4300 whitby.ca



October 3, 2022

Via Email:

The Honourable Caroline Mulroney Minister of Transportation caroline.mulroney@pc.ola.org

Re: Highway 412 – Installation of Ramps and Signalization Lights

Please be advised that at its meeting held on September 26, 2022, the Council of the Town of Whitby adopted the following as Resolution # 215-22:

Whereas the traffic has increased in volume on Highway 412 since the tolls were lifted earlier this year; and,

Whereas residents report that the intersections of the on and off ramps at both Highway 7 and Highway 2 are difficult to navigate safely; and,

Whereas there is substantial growth around the Rossland Road area of Highway 412; and,

Whereas the east-west roads within our municipality are increasingly congested with all the new growth, and the usage of Highway 412 is anticipated to increase substantially.

Now therefore be it resolved:

- 1. That the Council of the Town of Whitby requests that the Province of Ontario install entrance and exit ramps at Rossland Road on Highway 412, as well as provide for signalization lights at the intersections of the on and off ramps to provincial highways 2 and 7; and,
- 2. That this request of Council be copied to the MTO, AMO, Region of Durham and all Durham MPPs and MPs.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to the Office of the Town Clerk at 905.430.4315.

Chris Harris Town Clerk

Copy: C. Harris, Town Clerk

Association of Municipalities of Ontario – amo@amo.on.ca
Erin O'Toole, MP, Durham - Erin.OToole@parl.gc.ca
Ryan Turnbull, MP, Whitby - Ryan.Turnbull@parl.gc.ca
Colin Carrie, MP, Oshawa - colin.carrie@parl.gc.ca
Jennifer O'Connell, MP, Pickering-Uxbridge - Jennifer.OConnell@parl.gc.ca
Jamie Schmale, MP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock Jamie.Schmale@parl.gc.ca
Mark Holland, MP, Ajax - Mark.Holland@parl.gc.ca

Mark Holland, MP, Ajax - Mark.Holland@parl.gc.ca
Lorne Coe, MPP, Whitby - lorne.coe@pc.ola.org
Todd J. McCarthy, MPP, Durham - Todd.McCarthy@pc.ola.org
Jennifer K. French, MPP, Oshawa - Jennifer.OConnell@parl.gc.ca
Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP, Pickering-Uxbridge - peter.bethlenfalvy@pc.ola.org
Laurie Scott, MPP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock - laurie.scott@pc.ola.org
A. Harras, Regional Clerk - clerks@durham.ca