

Interoffice Memorandum

TO: William Holmes, General Manager, Durham Region Transit

FROM: Alexander Harras, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

DATE: December 7, 2022

RE: Transit Executive Committee Members for the 2022 – 2026 Term

On September 29, 2021, Regional Council passed By-law number 27-2021, a new Durham Region Transit Commission By-law, for the purpose of operating the regional transit system known as Durham Region Transit (DRT).

Section 6 of the By-law provides for a nine member Executive Committee consisting of the eight Mayors, or their duly appointed Regional designates, of the lower tier municipalities in Durham Region and the Regional Chair.

Section 15 of the By-law provides that the term of office of members of the Commission shall coincide with their term in office as a Durham Regional Councillor or Chair. In addition, Section 16 of the By-law states that at the discretion of the Mayor, their term of office on the Executive Committee or the term of the duly appointed Regional designate, where applicable, may be a two-year term with the second appointment, if required, to be made in December of the second year of the four year term of Council.

For your reference, the composition of the Transit Executive Committee for the 2022-2026 term is as follows:

Commissioner Henry	Regional Chair and CEO	
Commissioner Crawford	Town of Ajax (designate)	4 year term
Commissioner Schummer	Township of Brock (Mayor)	2 year term
Commissioner Anderson	Municipality of Clarington (designate)	4 year term
Commissioner Carter	City of Oshawa (Mayor)	4 year term
Commissioner Brenner	City of Pickering (designate)	4 year term
Commissioner Wotten	Township of Scugog (Mayor)	2 year term
Commissioner Garrod	Township of Uxbridge (designate)	2 year term
Commissioner Roy	Town of Whitby (Mayor)	2 year term

Alexander Harras

Regional Clerk / Director of Legislative Services

"Service Excellence for our Communities"