

Legislative Services Division Date & August 02, 2024 Time 2:35 pm Received: Original To: Copies To: File Take Appropriate Action Notes/Comments:

Corporate Services Department

Annette Groves Mayor

da E-Mail: doug.fordco@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario Premier's Office. Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park

Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

July 31, 2024

RE: RESOLUTION ON PROVINCIAL REGULATIONS NEEDED TO RESTRICT KEEPING OF **NON-NATIVE ("EXOTIC") WILD ANIMALS**

Dear Premier Ford,

I am writing to advise that at the Town Council meeting held on July 23, 2024, Council adopted a resolution supporting the Town of Smiths Falls regarding Resolution on Provincial Regulations Needed to Restrict Keeping of Non-Native ("exotic") Wild Animals.

The resolution reads as follows:

That the Town of Caledon support the Town of Smiths Falls regarding Resolution on Provincial Regulations Needed to Restrict Keeping of Non-Native ("exotic") Wild Animals and the request to the Province to implement provincial regulations to restrict the possession, breeding, and use of non-native ("exotic") wild animals and license zoos in order to guarantee the fair and consistent application of policy throughout Ontario for the safety of Ontario's citizens and the non-native ("exotic") wild animal population; and

That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Premier of Ontario, Ontario Solicitor General, Ontario Minister for Natural Resources and Forestry, Honorable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier, Minister of Health and MPP Dufferin-Caledon, Town of Smiths Falls, and all Ontario municipalities.

For more information regarding this matter, please contact Catherine Monast, Chief of Staff, directly by email at Catherine. Monast@caledon.ca or by phone at 905.584.2272 ext. 4539.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Annette Groves Mayor

Sincerely,

Cc: The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and MPP Dufferin-Caledon, sylvia.jones@pc.ola.org
The Honorable Michael Kerzner, Ontario Solicitor General, michael.kerzner@ontario.ca
The Honourable Graydon Smith, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry
minister.mnrf@ontario.ca
Kerry Costello, Clerk, Town of Smith Falls, kcostello@smithsfalls.ca
All Ontario Municipalities