

Justin Trudeau justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca (sent via e-mail)

August 30th, 2024

Re: The Canada Community-Building Fund

Please be advised that the Council of the Town of Plympton-Wyoming, at its Regular Council meeting on August 28th, 2024, passed the following motion supporting the resolution from the City of Quinte West regarding the Canada Community-Building Fund.

Motion #16

Moved by Councillor Kristen Rodrigues
Seconded by Councillor Mike Vasey
That Council support correspondence item 'i' from the City of Quinte West regarding the Canada
Community-Building Fund.

Carried.

If you have any questions regarding the above motion, please do not hesitate to contact me by phone or email at eflynn@plympton-wyoming.ca.

Sincerely,

Ella Flynn
Executive Assistant – Deputy Clerk
Town of Plympton-Wyoming

Cc: Donna Herridge, Executive Director, MFOA donna@mfoa.on.ca
Colin Best, President, AMO amopresident@amo.on.ca
Marilyn Gladu, MP, Sarnia-Lambton marilyn.gladu@parl.gc.ca
Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance chrystia.freeland@parl.gc.ca
All Ontario Municipalities

P.O. Box 490 7 Creswell Drive Trenton, Ontario K8V 5R6 www.quintewest.ca



Tel: 613-392-2841
Toll Free: 1-866-485-2841
virginial@quintewest.ca
clerk@quintewest.ca

Virginia LaTour, Deputy City Clerk

August 15, 2024

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau
Office of the Prime Minister
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2
Via Email - justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

RE: Notice of Motion - Councillor Stedall - The Canada Community-Building Fund

Dear Prime Minister:

This letter will serve to advise that at a meeting of City of Quinte West Council held on August 14, 2024 Council passed the following resolution:

Motion No 24-366 - Notice of Motion - Councillor Stedall - The Canada Community-Building Fund

Moved by Councillor Stedall Seconded by Councillor McCue

Whereas the City of Quinte West is entering into an agreement to receive Canada Community-Building Funds, which is administered by the Association of Ontario Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) on behalf of the Federal government;

And whereas the funding allocations are less that 2% year over year for the next 5 years;

And whereas the amounts allocated in the past 5 years were less than 2% year over year;

And whereas non-residential construction price inflation has risen by 29% since the end of 2020 and municipalities are facing soaring costs for infrastructure projects without a corresponding growth in revenue;

And whereas there is a requirement for municipalities to complete an asset management plan and a housing needs analysis;

And whereas both of these plans show the large funding gap between infrastructure and housing needs and funds available from property taxation;

And whereas The City of Quinte West has over \$1.5 billion in core infrastructure assets and, like other municipalities, its infrastructure is aging and in need of upgrades and replacement;

And whereas The City's Asset Management Plan requires \$37 million annually to maintain existing assets which, based on current available funding, is resulting in an annual infrastructure deficit of over \$17.1 million;

And whereas municipalities are facing a gap in federal infrastructure funding as the 10-year Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program has come to an end;

Now therefore be it resolved that the City of Quinte West calls on the Federal Government to provide a supplement to the allocations provided to municipalities under the AMO CBBF agreement for 2024 - 2028 for the same amount that was allocated, effectively doubling the allocation for those years;

And further that this resolution be forwarded to MFOA, AMO, MP Ryan Williams, and Federal Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland, and all Municipalities in Ontario. **Carried**

We trust that you will give favourable consideration to this request.

Yours Truly,

CITY OF QUINTE WEST

Virginia LaTour, Deputy City Clerk

cc: Donna Herridge, Executive Director, MFOA
Colin Best, President, AMO
Ryan Williams, MP, Bay of Quinte
Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance
All Municipalities of Ontario