Corporate Services Department Legislative Services Division	
Date &	March 25, 2025
Received:	9:21 am
Original To:	CIP
Copies To:	
Take Appropriate Action File	
Notes/Comments:	



19 Holland Rd W. RR.#1 Kakabeka Falls, ON POT 1W0

www.conmee.com

Please be advised that Conmee Township Council passed the following resolution at its regular meeting held March 11, 2025:

RESOLUTION 2025-053

Moved by: Councillor Kresack Seconded by: Councillor Maxwell

WHEREAS in recent years, Nazi iconography has surfaced with alarming frequency in the public sphere, used by an increasing number of groups and individuals to promote hate and instill fear within Canadian society;

AND WHEREAS, since the atrocities of WWII, the Nazi swastika, also known as the hakenkreuze, has become universally synonymous with systematic violence, terror and hate and its growing presence in our country poses a threat to every single Canadian citizen, undermining the core values of equality, diversity, and inclusion that define our nation,

AND WHEREAS eighteen countries have already taken action to ban these symbols, it is imperative that Canada follow suit;

BE IT RESOLVED, that Conmee Township Council supports B'nai Brith's call to the Government of Canada to pass legislation banning, with exceptions for certain educational and artistic purposes, the public display of Nazi symbols and iconography, including the Nazi swastika (hakenkreuze). Specifically, the Council supports demanding that the Government of Canada immediately:

- 1. Ban the Nazi swastika (hakenkreuze); and
- 2. Ban all Nazi symbols and iconography;

AND, FURTHER, THAT Conmee Township Council agrees that the people of Canada are counting on the federal government to ensure a future free from hate, where every Canadian is protected, valued, and respected;

AND, FURTHER, THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the originating municipality, the Regional Municipality of Durham, Priemer Doug Ford, MPP for Thunder Bay-Superior North, MPP for Thunder Bay-Atikokan, and the FCM (Federation of Canadian Municipalities).

Thank you, Karen Paisley – Municipal Clerk