

Corporate Services Department
Legislative Services Division

Date & June 13, 2025
Time
Received: 8:26 am

Original To: CIP

Copies To:

Take Appropriate Action File

Notes/Comments:

June 6, 2025

The Honourable Doug Ford Legislative Building Queens Park TORONTO ON M7A 1A4 premier@ontario.ca

Dear Premier Ford:

At the Municipality of Bluewater's regular Council meeting held on June 2, 2025, Council passed the following resolutions:

MOVED: Councillor Whetstone SECONDED: Councillor Hessel WHEREAS the Province of Ontario has designated Municipality of Bluewater as a "Strong Mayor" community, granting enhanced powers to the Mayor effective May 1, 2025; and,

WHEREAS the Strong Mayor powers significantly alter the balance of governance at the municipal level, undermining the role of Council in decision-making and weakening the fundamental democratic principle of majority rule; and,

WHEREAS the Municipality of Bluewater did not formally request or express a desire to be designated under the Strong Mayor framework; and,

WHEREAS a growing number of municipalities and elected officials across Ontario are questioning the appropriateness of the Strong Mayor system and are calling for its reconsideration or repeal;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Bluewater Council formally request that the Premier of Ontario and the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing immediately remove the Municipality of Bluewater from the list of municipalities designated under the Strong Mayor legislation;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Lisa Thompson, MPP for Huron Bruce, all Ontario municipalities, Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA), and the Association of Municipalities (AMO) for their awareness and support. **CARRIED**

Sincerely,

Chandra Alexander Manager of Corporate Services/Clerk

CC:

Rob Flack, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Lisa Thompson, Huron-Bruce MPP Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA) Association of Municipalities (AMO) All Ontario municipalities